7 Sorrows of Mary Chaplet with Memento Mori


The set of prayer beads known as the Chaplet of 7 Sorrows, or the Rosary of the 7 Dolors of Mary has its origins in the Middle Ages, and is today becoming more popular again. This set is made with snowflake obsidian gemstone beads, and features medals revealing the Seven Sorrows.

I've used the traditional layout for this rosary, which has 7 sets of 7 beads with medals showing each Sorrow between them. The 1st Sorrow forms the connecting link for the circlet of prayer beads. The back of each medal has an image of Our Lady of Sorrows.

Two memento mori beads hang at the center of the rosary. Memento mori were traditional additions to rosaries in past times when this chaplet was very popular. Their intention is to remind the owner that life is brief. Read more about them here.

The front of the rosary has an additional 3 beads & a medal of Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows with her heart pierced by 7 swords with an image of the crucifixion on the other side. All the beads are separately linked with silver rosary wire so the set flows smoothly through your fingers as you pray the rosary. The medals are silver-plated pewter.

The 7 medals represent these events in Mary's life:

1 - The presentation in the Temple
2 - Flight into Egypt
3 - Loss of Jesus for 3 days
4 - The way to Calvary
5 - Crucifixion
6 - Descent from the Cross
7 - Burial of Jesus.

Length: 58cm / 22.75 inches
Beads: 8mm round snowflake obsidian.

This full-size chaplet rosary comes in a handmade rosary pouch for you to store it in, along with a leaflet with the meditation and reading for each Sorrow.

Click this link to see the Our Lady of Sorrow Collection.



Related Products



Sold Out