Our Lady of Sorrows Chaplet


This small version of the Our Lady of Sorrows rosary is called a chaplet, and is an easy size to carry with you or keep on your bedside table. It comes with a pamphlet of prayers related to the 7 sorrows that the Blessed Virgin Mary experienced for her own son.

I've used beautiful natural New Zealand paua shell beads for the 7 prayer beads in the loop, along with 3 teardrop shaped paua beads in the front. The center connector shows the Virgin Mary holding her child Jesus, and the chaplet begins and ends with a medal of Mary with Her heart pierced by 7 swords.

A long standing devotion in christian history, devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows focuses on the seven sorrows, or dolors, of the Blessed Virgin Mary:

1. The Prophecy of Simeon.
2. The Flight into Egypt.
3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for Three Days.
4. Meeting Jesus on the Way to Calvary.
5. The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus.
6. Jesus Taken Down from the Cross.
7. Jesus Laid in the Tomb.

Length: 25cm / 10 inches;
Medal: 2.5cm / 1 inch;
Beads: 12mm round & 15mm paua

The Gospels, particularly that of St John, record Mary standing by the Cross of Jesus. The Our Lady of Sorrows medal is a remembrance of the suffering that the Blessed Virgin Mary experienced for her own Son and a model for us when we experience sorrows in our own lives.

Our Lady of Sorrows collection
Pocket rosaries & tenners
Patron Saint chaplets



Related Products



Sold Out