Chaplet of 7 Sorrows - Mater Dolorosa Rosary


The set of prayer beads known as the Chaplet of 7 Sorrows, or the Servite rosary, has its origins in the Middle Ages, and is today becoming popular once again. This set is made with Czech firepolished glass beads, and features medals revealing the Seven Sorrows.

I've used the traditional layout for this rosary, which has 7 sets of 7 beads and medals showing each Sorrow between them. The 1st Sorrow forms the connecting link for the circlet of prayer beads. The back of each medal has an image of Mary as Our Lady of Sorrows with 7 swords piercing Her heart.

The front of the rosary has an additional 3 beads, and a medal of the crucifixion with Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows on the other side.

The chaplet is made with faceted Czech firepolished glass beads in amethyst purple with a subtle coppery sheen. All the beads are separately linked with silver rosary wire so the set flows smoothly through your fingers as you pray the rosary.

The 7 medals represent these events in Mary's life:

1 - The presentation in the Temple
2 - Flight into Egypt
3 - Loss of Jesus for 3 days
4 - The way to Calvary
5 - Crucifixion
6 - Descent from the Cross
7 - Burial of Jesus.

The rosary comes in a handmade rosary pouch for you to store it in, along with a pamphlet with the meditation and reading for each Sorrow.

Our Lady of Sorrows Collection


Related Products



Sold Out