Chaplet of Seven Sorrows - 7 Dolors of Mary Rosary


The set of prayer beads known as the Chaplet of 7 Sorrows, or the Rosary of the 7 Dolors of Mary has its origins in the Middle Ages, and is today becoming more popular again. This set is made with Czech art glass beads in a delicate transparent violet-blue with gold ends, and features medals revealing the Seven Sorrows.

I've used the traditional layout for this rosary, which has 7 sets of 7 beads and medals showing each Sorrow between them. The 1st Sorrow forms the connecting link for the circlet of prayer beads. The back of each medal has an image of Mary as Our Lady of Sorrows.

The front of the rosary has an additional 3 beads, and a medal of Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows with her heart pierced by 7 swords, and an image of the crucifixion on the reverse.

All the beads are separately linked with gold rosary wire so the set flows smoothly through your fingers as you pray the rosary. The medals and crucifix are gold-plated pewter.

The 7 medals represent these events in Mary's life:

1 - The presentation in the Temple
2 - Flight into Egypt
3 - Loss of Jesus for 3 days
4 - The way to Calvary
5 - Crucifixion
6 - Descent from the Cross
7 - Burial of Jesus.

The rosary comes in a handmade rosary pouch for you to store it in, along with a leaflet with the meditation and reading for each Sorrow.

Click this link to see the Our Lady of Sorrow Collection.




Related Products



Sold Out